NORTH NORTHAMPTONSHIRE SHADOW AUTHORITY

SHADOW AUTHORITY MEETING

4th June 2020

Report of the Interim Monitoring Officer

| Report Title | Committee Proportionality and Appointment of Members to Committees |
|--------------|--|
| | |

1. Purpose

1.1 This report invites the Shadow Authority to note the members of the Shadow Executive Committee, to receive the names of the Leaders and Deputy Leaders of the political groups, to constitute and decide on the allocation of places on committees between the political groups in accordance with the political balance requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and to confirm the appointment of Committee Chairs, Deputy Chairs and members.

2. Recommendations

It is recommended that the Shadow Authority:

- i) Notes the creation of a leader and cabinet executive within the meaning of Part 1A of the Local Government Act 2000 (a) arrangements with respect to local authority governance) ("the shadow executive").
- ii) Notes the members of the Shadow Executive Committee set out in paragraph 3.3.
- iii) Receives the names of the Leaders and Deputy Leaders of the Shadow Authority and of the political groups as set out at paragraph 3.4 and 3.5.
- iv) Agrees to constitute and decide on the allocation of places on committees between the political groups in accordance with the political balance requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, as set out at paragraph 3.10.
- v) Agrees that, in accordance with the provisions of Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the appointments to the Standards Committee should not be made on the basis of political balance but should instead be made in such a way that every group on the Shadow Council is represented, as set out in paragraph 3.11.
- vi) Confirms the appointment of Committee Chairs, Deputy Chairs and members as required.

3. Issues and Choices

3.1 Report Background

- 3.2 The Local Government (Coronavirus) (Structural Changes) (Consequential Amendments) (England) Regulations 2020 enact that the Shadow Authority will create a leader and cabinet executive.
- 3.3 The Regulations stipulate that the Executive will comprise: two members of the county council, nominated by the Leader of the county council, both of whom must be members of the county council executive and represent divisions within North Northamptonshire; and the Leaders of the North's district and borough councils, and one other member of the district and boroughs nominated by the Leader of that member's district or borough council. If the council operates executive arrangements, then the member nominated must be from the executive of that council. The full membership of the Executive is:

Councillor Jean Addison Councillor Tom Beattie Councillor Wendy Brackenbury Councillor Martyn Griffiths Councillor Ian Jelley Councillor David Jenney Councillor Steven North Councillor Tom Partridge-Underwood Councillor Russell Roberts Councillor Jason Smithers

- 3.4 Councillor Russell Roberts is the Leader of the North Northamptonshire Shadow Authority and Councillor Martyn Griffiths is Deputy Leader.
- 3.5 It remains for the Shadow Authority to receive the names of the Leaders and Deputy Leaders of the political groups. These will be reported to the Shadow Authority meeting on 4th June 2020 if received.
- 3.6 In addition, the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and its associated regulations, requires the Shadow Authority at its first meeting, or as soon as practicable afterwards following any changes to its political makeup, to review the representation of political groups and determine the allocation of seats (i.e. proportionality) to committees.
- 3.7 The Local Government and Housing Act 1989 states that when carrying out calculations to apply political balance to committees, only those elected members who are members of political groups are to be counted. However, Council can determine whether it wishes to allocate a seat(s) to a member not part of a political group on such committees as Council deems necessary by passing a resolution with no Members voting against.
- 3.8 The composition of the political groups is 97 Conservative members, 44 Labour members, 7 Independent Group members, 2 Liberal Democrats members and 1 independent member who is unaligned to any political group.

- 3.9 The following principles must be applied in allocating committee places, in order of priority:
 - 3.9.1 That not all seats on any committee are allocated to the same political group;
 - 3.9.2 That the majority of seats on all committees are allocated to the political group that has a majority of the Shadow Authority's membership or as otherwise reflects the make-up of the Shadow Authority;
 - 3.9.3 That subject to 3.9.1. and 3.9.2 above, the number of seats for all main committees which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all the seats on the main committees as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the Shadow Authority; and
 - 3.9.4 Subject to 3.9.3 the numbers of seats on the individual Committees allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of seats of that Committee as is borne by the number of members of that group to their membership of the Authority.
- 3.10 There are 25 allocated Committee places which must be allocated as follows: 16 Conservative, 7 Labour, and 2 Independent Group.
- 3.11 Due to the nature of the work of the Standards Committee, it is being recommended to the Authority, in accordance with the provisions of section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the appointments to that committee should not be made on the basis of political balance but should include representation from every recognised political group on the Shadow Authority. This is to be achieved by allocating seats according to the principles of proportionality and then allocating one additional seat to the Liberal Democrat Group. This provision must be passed by the Authority without any Member voting against it in order to take effect. If agreed, this would increase the allocated Committee places to 26.

The allocation of seats for the recognised groups, subject to agreement of recommendation 2(v) above, between the Committees is as follows:

| Committee | Conservative | Labour | Independent Group | Liberal Democrat | Total |
|--------------------------------------|--------------|--------|----------------------|---------------------|-------|
| Overview and Scrutiny | 8 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 13 |
| Senior Appointments Committee* | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 5 |
| Standards Committee | 4 | 2 | 1 | 1** | 8 |

* It should be noted that under Article 8 of the Authority's Constitution there is a requirement for at least one member of the Senior Appointments Committee to also be a member of the Shadow Executive Committee. ** If the Shadow Authority does not agree to recommendation 2(v) above, the Standards Committee would comprise 7 Members only, with no Liberal Democrat Group representation.

3.12 The memberships of Committees, including Chairs and Deputy Chairs, will be circulated prior to the meeting.

4. Implications (including financial implications)

4.1 Policy

4.1.1 None specifically.

4.2 Resources and Risk

4.2.1 None

4.3 Legal

4.2.1 The Shadow Authority has obligations under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and its associated regulations to review the representation of political groups and determine the allocations of seats.

4.4 Equality and Health

4.4.1 None specifically.

Report Authors: Paul Goult/Ben Smith (Joint Lead Democratic Services Managers)